Thursday, May 18, 2006

Liberal leadership candidates and the Afghanistan vote.

If anybody is interested, the Toronto Star has a rundown of the Liberal leadership hopefuls' votes or stances on General Harper's snap vote on extending the Afghan mission by two years:

Scott Brison and Michael Ignatieff, two of the eight MPs who are candidates for the Liberal leadership, voted to extend the mission. The other six — Ken Dryden, Maurizio Bevilacqua, St├ęphane Dion, Hedy Fry, Joe Volpe and Carolyn Bennett — voted against.

Earlier last night, former Ontario premier Bob Rae and former Ontario education minister Gerard Kennedy, who are also running for the Liberal leadership, told Canadian Press they'd have opposed the motion if they could have voted on it.

Interim Liberal Leader Bill Graham voted for the motion. Former prime minister Paul Martin was absent.

No comments: